Top Honors Awarded to AABP Dairy and Beef Veterinarians

The highest honor a member of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) can receive in a career is the AABP Bovine Practitioner of the Year, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim.

At AABP’s 54th Annual Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah, October 7-9, 2021, Dr. Kelly Barratt, Listowel, Ontario, received this prestigious award. This award honors a practicing veterinarian who works in organized veterinary medicine and has made significant contributions to cattle medicine. Barratt is the first woman to receive this award from AABP.

At the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon on October 9th, several other cattle veterinarians were also honored via the virtual platform. They are:

AABP award for excellence
Sponsored by AABP, the recipients must be active in teaching, research, industry or government. The professional activity of the recipient must have had a consistent and direct influence on the daily work of veterinarians in the cattle practice. The recipient in 2021 is:
Dr. Nigel Cook, Waunakee, Wis.

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award
The recipient of this award is a person who has promoted the goals of the AABP through long and continuous work and whose achievements have served as a model for the service of cattle farming through organized veterinary medicine. The recipient in 2021 is:
Dr. Dale Moore, Moscow, Idaho

Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award
The award winner is an AABP member who has been working in the field of veterinary medicine for at least 25 years and serves both as a consultant and as a role model for students of pre-primary and / or veterinary medicine. This award is given to a member who embodies this spirit in the practice, in the clinic or in the classroom. The recipient in 2021 is: Dr. Mark Hilton, West Lafayette, Ind.

Awards from Boehringer Ingelheim for outstanding performance in preventive medicine
This award recognizes individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Due to different management goals and needs, an award is given for an outstanding program for milk production and one for beef production. The recipients in 2021 are:
(Dairy) Dr. Dr. James Bennett, Plainview, Minn.
(Beef) Dr. Christine Navarre, Baton Rouge, La.

Dr. James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders
Recipients of this award have completed veterinary school in 10 years, rendered extraordinary services to the AABP that greatly enhance the organization’s mission, and whose contributions help ensure the current and future success of the AABP. The recipient in 2021 is:
Dr. Elizabeth Homerosky, Rocky View County, Alberta

Amstutz Williams Prize
This award honors the late Dr. Harold E. Amstutz, who served the AABP as Secretary-Treasurer and Executive Vice President until 1993, and Dr. Eric I. Williams, who was editor of the Bovine Practitioner and Proceedings Book from 1969 to 1998.The award was presented to recognize the longstanding and outstanding achievements of the two awardees. It is the highest distinction that can be bestowed by the AABP, and it is only awarded when a highly qualified individual is nominated and selected for outstanding service to the veterinary profession.
Dr. Dee Griffin, Lincoln, Neb.

AABP honorary membership for life
The American Association of Bovine Practitioners is made up of veterinarians and veterinary students with an interest in bovine practice. AABP’s board of directors has recognized non-veterinarians who have made significant contributions to the organization, its members, or cattle veterinary medicine. To recognize these people, the board can grant honorary membership for life. The recipient of AABP Honorary Life Membership is Mr. Dick Lewis, Orono, Minn.

Other awards presented at the 54th AABP Annual Conference 2021 include:

2021 AABP Foundation Competitive Research Grant Award
• Assessment of systemic inflammation following oral calcium supplementation in postpartum dairy cows
Dr. Stephen LeBlanc, Ontario Veterinary College

2021 AABP Foundation Cattle Welfare Grant Awards *
• To evaluate the effectiveness of two local anesthetic options for pain relief in calves after cauteric dehorning
Dr. Abbie Viscardi, Kansas State University

• Determination of the need for analgesics in one-day calves after cauterization
Dr. Pat Gorden, Iowa State University

* These grants are supported by an anonymous donor with appropriate funds from the AABP Foundation.

2021 AABP Research Summaries Graduate Student Awards
• First place – Lisa Gamsjäger, University of Calgary
Do the volume, immunoglobulin G content and feeding method of the first colostrum meal influence subsequent suckling behavior and the transmission of passive immunity in cattle calves?

• Second place – William Crosby, Mississippi State University
Comparison of sampling methods and diagnostic techniques for the extraction of Mannheimia haemolytica from beef cattle

• Third place – Claira Seely, Cornell University
The relationship between prepartum urine pH and periparturous activity and rumination time on the dynamics of subclinical hypocalcemia after birth in Holstein cows

Student case presentation competition winner 2021
• Overall winner – Monika Dzuiba, Michigan State University
Negatively controlled study investigating the effect of dry cow therapy on clinical mastitis and culling
• Winner of the research report
o Research project – first place
Monika Dzuiba, Michigan State University
Negatively controlled study investigating the effect of dry cow therapy on clinical mastitis and culling
o Research project – second place
Megan McMahon, University of Minnesota
Effects of water tank rehabilitation on water quality, bacterial and viral contamination and feed consumption of cattle on a fattening farm in the Midwest
• Clinical case – Jessica Garcia, Ohio State University
Management of a zoonotic emerging multidrug-resistant Salmonella enterica serotype 4, 5, 12, i- in dairies in the Midwest