Bull Dog Alumni Association announces Hall of Fame class

Columbus North student Luke Rutherford waits to service the camera for the livestream of a boys basketball game against Shelbyville at Columbus North High School in Columbus, Ind., Friday, December 4, 2020. Mike Wolanin | The Republic

The Bull Dog Alumni Association is postponing its annual Hall of Fame celebration due to the pandemic, but has announced its 2021 award winners class.

The Hall of Fame is accepting these new members in absentia / posthumously this year in the hope that a ceremony can be held in person in 2022.

This year’s course includes:

Jane Dutton, born 1984, Professor of Music at Indiana University Jacobs School of Music

The late Xenia Simons Miller, born in 1934, wife of J. Irwin Miller, who shared a vision and left a legacy of philanthropy, visual arts, contemporary architecture, and historic preservation for Columbus and beyond.

The late Jeanne Lewellen Norbeck, class of 1929, was inducted into the Woman Air Force Service Pilots Program and named group commander of her class. The restored chapel at Bakalar Air Base was named in her honor.

The late US Air Force (Ret.) Col. Jerry Records, born in 1956, who served as base commander at Hanscom Air Force Base and Eglin Air Foce Base during his military career.

Eric Stark, born 1984, professor and director of choral activities at the Jordan College of the Arts at Butler University.

Kay Nichols Stepp, born in 1963, first woman to be selected as President and Chief Operating Officer of an electricity company in the United States

In 2012, the Bull Dog Alumni Association founded the Hall of Fame to recognize Columbus High School / Columbus North High School graduates for their professional achievements and personal contribution to the betterment of the lives of others and society. In 2013, the opening class began and since then the Hall of Fame has accepted 35 members.

The 2020 ceremony has been postponed due to the pandemic and Hall of Fame officials were hoping to continue it during the homecoming this year, the pandemic has again put them on hold, officials said.

“We are of course disappointed,” said Hedy George, executive director of the association. “This is one of our biggest events of the year and we are proud to honor our alumni for their life’s work. Public health must be a priority though, so we are postponing it again in the hope of introducing several people with a very special event next year. “

Nomination criteria are anyone who has graduated from Columbus High School or Columbus North High School for at least 20 years at the time of nomination. Nominations include an explanation of how a candidate demonstrated the Bull Dog way: respect, responsibility, relationships, and a generous spirit.

The six new members will have their photos with other members on the prominent wall.

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.