American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine


Virtual annual forum, 9.-12. June


The college made more than 300 sessions and several hundred e-posters available on a virtual platform. All content was available until September 30th.


Dr. IG Joe Mayhew

Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence
Dr. IG Joe Mayhew (Massey ’68), Palmerston North, New Zealand. Dr. Mayhew is a retired professor at Massey University School of Veterinary Sciences and a veterinary advisor in New Zealand. He is a diplomat from ACVIM in Internal Medicine and Large Animal Neurology and a Diplomat from the European College of Veterinary Neurology, a Fellow of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons and a member of the European Society of Veterinary Neurology. Dr. Mayhew authored the second edition of the textbook Large Animal Neurology.

ACVIM Lee and Inge Pyle Service Award
Dr. Michelle Barton (Illinois ’85), Athens, Georgia, for outstanding and dedicated service to ACVIM in a volunteer capacity for 10 or more years. Dr. Barton is the director of clinical academic affairs for the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine. As a diplomat at ACVIM in internal large animal medicine, she leads the program for third and fourth year veterinary students and teaches in the large animal teaching hospital.

Dr.  EttingerDr. Stephen Ettinger

Lifetime Specialty Achievement Awards
Drs. Alexander de Lahunta (Cornell ’58), Rye, New Hampshire, and Stephen Ettinger (Cornell ’64), Laguna Hills, California. Recently deceased (see story), Dr. en Lahunta emeritus James Law Professor of Anatomy and former director of what is now the Animal Hospital at Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine. During his tenure, he also headed the Department of Clinical Sciences and the Department of Anatomy at the University of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. de Lahunta was a founding member and diplomat in neurology of ACVIM and helped establish the neurology department at the college. Dr. Ettinger co-founded the Berkeley Veterinary Medical Group, the first private group practice for veterinary medicine in the United States. During his career, he was also a clinical professor at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine and was part of the California Animal Hospital Veterinary Specialty Group. Dr. Ettinger is co-author of the textbook “Canine Cardiology” and author of the “Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine”. He is the ACVIM’s founding diplomat in cardiology and was the first president of the ACVIM Specialty of Cardiology.

New diplomats

Lyndsay Kong, Calgary, Alberta

Internal medicine in large animals
Kari Bevevino, Bryan, Texas
Lauren Bookbinder, Woodstock, Connecticut
Shannon Darby, Lillington, North Carolina
Barbara Delvescovo, Ithaca, New York
Lisa Edwards, Davis, California
Stephanie Frank, Lake Forest, California
Lisanne Gallant, Lambton, Australia
Eloi Guarnieri, Montreal
Aja Harvey, Raritan, New Jersey
Bruno Karam, Bothell, Washington
Thibaud Kuca, Estévenens, Switzerland
Amy Deficiency, Guelph. Ontario
Estelle Manguin, Maisons-Alfort, France
Mariya Pitel, Pacific Grove, California
Valentina Ragno, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Jacob Swink, Acme, Pennsylvania
Leslie Weaver, Manhattan, Kansas
Andrew Willis, Stephenville, Texas

Vincent Baldanza, Los Angeles
Joshua Henry, Ithaca, New York
Edwina Love, Norwalk, Connecticut
Christine Oakley, Woodland Hills, California
Irene Vazquez, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Ariana Verrilli, West Sand Lake, New York

Internal medicine in small animals
Erin Allen, Red Bank, New Jersey
Emilia Bourassi, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Jose Ignacio Casado Diaz, Zurich
Lauren Cochran, St. Petersburg, Florida
Sarah Cocker-Scott, San Diego
Shannon Darby, Lillington, North Carolina
Lesli Kibler, Sutton, Massachusetts
Allison Leuin, Vista, California
Laura Motschenbacher, St. Paul, Minnesota
Matthew Munro, Newport, Australia
Laura Seibert, Beavercreek, Ohio
Julie Walter, Sunderland, Ontario


Dr.  GarrettDr. Laura GarrettDr.  McKenzieDr. Harold McKenzieDr.  SykesDr. Jane Sykes

Drs. Laura Garrett, Urbana, Ill., Chair, Board of Regents; Harold McKenzie, Blacksburg, Virginia, President; Jane Sykes, Davis, Calif., President-Elect; Allen Roussel, College Station, Texas, Treasurer; Jane Armstrong, Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, immediately after the presidency; Steven Rosenthal, Towson, Maryland, president of the Cardiology Department; Joan Coates, Columbia, Missouri, president of neurology; Ruthanne Chun, Madison, Wisconsin, president of the Oncology Department; Jörg Steiner, College Station, Texas, specialist in internal medicine for small animals; Chris Sanchez, Gainesville, Fla., Specialist in internal medicine for large animals; and Linda Fineman, Bozeman, Montana, CEO of ACVIM

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.