American College of Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia – Jan. 15, 2022


Virtual meeting, Sept. 25, 2021


Career Achievement Award
dr Wayne McDonell (Guelph ’65), Guelph, Ontario. A founding member and a past president of the ACVAA, Dr. McDonell is a professor emeritus at the University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College. During his tenure, he founded and managed the anesthesia service at the veterinary college. dr McDonell was instrumental in establishing the OVC Pet Trust, dedicated to improving companion animal health and well-being. He also helped establish Veterinarians Without Borders and has served on its board of directors.

President’s Award
dr William Tranquilli (Illinois ’77), St. Charles, Illinois. dr Tranquilli served as a professor and was chief of anesthesiology and pain management at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine prior to retirement. A diplomate of the ACVAA, he has edited three new editions of Lumb and Jones’ “Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia. “

ACVAA Resident Abstract Awardsponsored by Akorn Animal Health
Large animal—Dr. Lauren Lenello, University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, for “Ultrasound-guided rectus sheath block in fresh porcine cadavers: technique description and effect of two injectate volumes;” Small animal—Dr. Jessica Briley, North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine, for “Ultrasound-guided transgluteal injection of the pudendal nerve in cats: a cadaveric study.”

New Diplomates

Drs Kyle Bartholomew, Madison, Wisconsin; Gianluca Bini, Columbus, Ohio; Natalie Chow, Cincinnati; Hope Douglas, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania; Harriet Flynn, Davis, California; Jeremy Hansford, Christiansburg, Virginia; Nathaniel Kapaldo, Manhattan, Kansas; Hanna Machin, Cambridge, England; Erika Militana, West Haven, Connecticut; Morgan Oakleaf, Kuna, Idaho; Alexander Thomson, Hong Kong; H. Nicole Trenholme, Mahomet, Illinois; Brandon Wahler, Cincinnati; and Emily Wheeler, Ames, Iowa


Discussions were held on the financial status of the ACVAA and the ACVAA Foundation and on the issues and challenges of preparation and administration of the ACVAA certifying examination.


Drs Colin Dunlop, North Ryde, Australia, president; Berit Fischer, Lebanon, New Jersey, chair, board of directors; Kurt Grimm, Conifer, Colorado, president-elect; Lynne Kushner, Portsmouth, Rhode Island, executive secretary; and Christine Egger, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, immediate past president

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.