American Affiliation of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


63rd annual conference, virtual from October 5 to 21, 2020


William H. Fales, PhD

EP Pope Prize
William H. Fales, PhD, Ames, Iowa, for notable contributions to AAVLD and the field of veterinary diagnostic medicine. Dr. Fales received his PhD in bacteriology from the University of Idaho in 1974. He is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Veterinary Pathology at the University of Missouri’s College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Fales’ research has focused on diagnostic veterinary microbiology, mycology, antimicrobial susceptibility testing and resistance, paratuberculosis, and rapid identification methods for veterinary pathogenic organisms. He is an Honorary Diplomat from the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists and a Fellow Emeritus of the American Academy of Microbiology.

DR. BashlerDr. Timothy Baszler

Distinguished Service Award
Dr. Timothy Baszler (Iowa State ’82), Pullman, Washington, for volunteering, energy, and professionalism to significantly enrich and advance the AAVLD and the veterinary medical field. Dr. Baszler is a diplomat from the American College of Veterinary Pathologists and a professor at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Washington State University. He is also the Executive Director of the Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory and Associate Director of Disease Monitoring at the Paul G. Allen School of Global Animal Health. Dr. Baszler was recently elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences.

Mindy PlunkettMindy Plunkett

Award for Outstanding Achievement in Diagnostic Services
Mindy Plunkett of Vacaville, California won this award, which was presented to members of an AAVLD laboratory who did an excellent job on behalf of customers. Plunkett is the supervisor of the sample receiving team for the California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory System in Davis. During the virulent Newcastle Disease outbreak in 2018-20, she led her team to receive all task force submissions and commercial submissions.

DR. SaifDR. Yehia Mohamed Saif

Pioneer in Virology Award
Dr. Yehia Mohamed Saif, Wooster, Ohio. Dr. Saif received his veterinary degree from Cairo University in Egypt in 1958. He is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine at Ohio State University Veterinary College. During his tenure, Dr. Saif ran the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine and was the deputy dean of the Veterinary School. A graduate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists and a founding diplomat of the American College of Poultry Veterinarians, he is editor of Avian Diseases magazine and co-editor of the book Diagnosis of Major Poultry Diseases.

Dr.  ClothierDr. Kristin A. Clothier

Bio-Mic Award for outstanding performance in diagnostic microbiology
Dr. Kristin A. Clothier (California-Davis ’91), Davis, California, for research in diagnostic microbiology that has led to new scientific discoveries that can be used to improve veterinary medicine. Dr. Clothier is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology in the University of California Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, and also directs the Department of Bacteriology in the California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory System. Her research interests include improvements in diagnostic microbiology and the detection of pathogens, particularly bacterial respiratory pathogens; Tritrichomonas fetus; Salmonella in environmental and clinical matrices; and monitoring for antibiotic resistance in veterinary pathogens. Dr. Clothier is a diplomat for the ACVM.

Miranda hengyMiranda hengy

Richard L. Walker Bacteriology Award, sponsored by Anaerobic Systems
Miranda Hengy, Ohio State University student, for the presentation, “MALDI Sepsityper Technology Provides a Faster, But Less Sensitive, Way to Diagnosing Bacteremia in Veterinary Patients.”

Dr.  RawalDr. Gaurav Rawal

J. Lindsay Oaks Best Student Molecular Biology Award, sponsored by BioMérieux
Dr. Gaurav Rawal, Iowa State University, for the presentation “Development and validation of a real-time reverse transcription PCR assay for the specific detection of the PRRSGard-like vaccine virus”

DR. KalantariDR. Allen Kalantari

Brenda Love Best Student Bacteriology Poster Presentation Award, sponsored by VMRD
Dr. Allen Kalantari, University of Georgia, for “A retrospective analysis (2015-2019) of microbial etiologies in connection with suspected cases of respiratory diseases in cattle (FRG) from diagnostic laboratory applications in Georgia, USA”.

Dr.  Gonzales VieraDr. Omar Gonzales Viera

AAVLD / ACVP Diagnostic Pathology Resident / Graduate Student Award
Dr. Omar Gonzales Viera, University of California-Davis, for “Prevalence, Characterization, and Strain Identification of Infectious Bronchitis Viruses in California Backyard Chickens”

DR. YangDR. Tzushan Yang |

ACVP / AAVLD Diagnostic Pathology Resident / Graduate Student Travel Award
Dr. Tzushan Yang, North Carolina State University, for “Characterization of Neuropathological Lesions Associated with Avian Reovirus Infection in Commercial Broilers”

Dr.  McCulloughDr. Kathryn McCulloughDR. MainentiDR. Marta Mainenti

Diagnostic Pathology Slide Seminar Resident / Graduate Student Award
First place ($ 300): Dr. Kathryn McCullough, University of Georgia, for “Gastrocnemius Rupture in Broilers Infected by Avian Reovirus”; Second place ($ 200): Dr. Marta Mainenti, Utah State University, for “Spirocerca lupi Esophagitis in a German Shepherd Dog”; and third place (100 USD): Dr. Omar Gonzales Viera, University of California-Davis, for “Fatal Sarcocystis cruzi-Induced Eosinophilic Myocarditis in a Hereford Heifer”

Dr.  CarpenterDr. Molly Carpenter

Award for the best poster presentation
Dr. Molly Carpenter, Colorado State University, for “Characterizing the Influence of Temperature on Bluetongue Virus Rearrangement in Culicoides sonorensis”

DR. HilleDr. Matthew Hille

Best price for oral presentation
Dr. Matthew Hille, University of Nebraska, for “Rapid Differentiation of Moraxella bovoculi Genotypes 1 and 2 Using MALDI-TOF Mass Spectrometry Profiles”

DR. CazziniDr. Paola Cazzini

Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation Best Manuscript Award
Dr. Paola Cazzini, University of Edinburgh, for “Proposed Inflammatory Bowel Disease Assessment Scheme in Ferrets and Correlation with Clinical Symptoms”

Dr.  FagreDR. Anna Fagre

Journal of Veterinary Diagnostic Investigation Award for Best Brief Communication
Dr. Anna Fagre, Colorado State University, for “Comparing Detection Methods for Shedding Salmonella Enterica in Reptile Patients in a Veterinary Teaching Hospital”

Life membership

Dr. Willie M. Reed, West Lafayette, Indiana


Dr.  ZhangDr. Shuping ZhangDR. SalikiDR. Jerry Saliki

Drs. Shuping Zhang, Columbia, Missouri, President; Jerry Saliki, Stillwater, Oklahoma, President-elect and Program Chairman; Eric Burrough, Ames, Iowa, vice president; Kristy Pabilonia, Fort Collins, Colorado, secretary and treasurer; Deepanker Tewari, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, past president; and David H. Zeman, Brookings, South Dakota, executive director