American Affiliation of Swine Veterinarians

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


52nd annual meeting, virtual from February 27th to March 2nd


Swine vets and veterinary students learned about veterinary leadership skills, personal development, the impact of COVID-19 and its impact on other disease problems, the threat of African swine fever, new disease control tools, and the role of veterinarians in delivering the best Results know welfare for pigs. The theme was “Navigating the Future … Together”. Dr. Jerome Geiger, Health Assurance Veterinarian at PIC, delivered the Howard Dunne Memorial Lecture on AASV talent, pig veterinarians’ accomplishments, and the need for collaboration. The meeting included 10 pre-conference seminars, two general sessions, three concurrent sessions, four industry partner sessions, the organization’s annual business meeting, a student trivia event, and an awards ceremony.


Dr. Jeremy Pittman

Pig Practitioner of the Year
Dr. Jeremy Pittman (State of North Carolina ’04), Wakefield, Virginia. The award recognizes swine practitioners for their competence and effectiveness in providing veterinary services. Dr. Pittman is the veterinarian for Smithfield Hog production in North Carolina and Virginia and an associate faculty member at the Veterinary College of North Carolina State University. He is a dedicated mentor to early career students and veterinarians, an embodiment of the AASV values ​​for science-based pig health and management, and a highly sought-after volunteer in the pig industry and pig medicine organizations.

Dr.  SieversDr. Chris Sievers

Young Pig Vet of the Year
Dr. Chris Sievers (Iowa State ’16), Storm Lake, Iowa. An AASV member is honored with the award for exemplary service and competence within five years of graduation. Dr. Sievers is a veterinarian at the Swine Vet Center in St. Peter, Minnesota. His colleagues nominated him for his ingenuity, ability to make science-based recommendations, and willingness to share knowledge.

Dr.  LehmanDr. James Lehman

Technical Services / Allied IndustryVeterinarian of the Year
Dr. James Lehman (Illinois ’89), Sullivan, Illinois. The award recognizes veterinarians for their competence and effectiveness in providing veterinary services to businesses and customers, as well as for their tireless service to the AASV and pig industries. Dr. Lehman is the technical service manager for the Swine Business Unit at Merck Animal Health. He is a trusted tech services veterinarian recognized for his leadership skills and ability to bring people together with conflicting opinions, as well as technical skills and ability to solve industry problems.

Dr.  DeenDr. John Deen

Howard Dunne Memorial Award
Dr. John Deen (Guelph ’84), St. Paul, Minnesota. The award is given to veterinarians for contributions and services to the AASV and pig industries. Dr. Deen is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Population Medicine at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a pioneer in animal welfare and a promoter of pig welfare, a dedicated mentor to graduate students, and a resource for veterinarians and producers.

Dr.  BaysingerDr. Angela Baysinger

Meritorious service award
Dr. Angela Baysinger (Missouri ’92), Bruning, Nebraska. The prize is awarded to veterinarians for their services to the AASV. Dr. Baysinger is the North American animal welfare director for Merck Animal Health. Her colleagues describe her as a motivated person who cares deeply about the veterinary profession, vets, producers and pigs. She is a member of the AASV Pig Welfare Committee, since 2003 AASV representative on the Board of the Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization and AASV representative on the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee. She co-authored the AASV study “On-Farm Euthanasia of Swine: Recommendations for the Farmer” and was previously a board member of the AASV and a member of numerous other groups within the AASV, AVMA and pig industries.


Drs. Mary Battrell, Garland, North Carolina, president; Michael Senn, Newton, Kansas, President-elect; William Hollis, Carthage, Illinois, vice president; and Jeffrey Harker, Frankfort, Indiana, past president